So, it turns out if you uninstall the express edition and install professional, your professional will still be express….
To avoid the issue, after the uninstall you must manually delete %allusersprofile%Application DataMicrosoftOffice Accountingx.0pa.dat where x is a 3 or 4 depending on your version.
Maybe I should have actually trusted an “upgrade” installation although at this point I’m not certain it was ever an option…
I also deleted a few other things left behind that didn’t seem of any consequence, but I still find it funny that once loading up my company file I was still in report view, (which btw looked funny and broken, somehow) so I’m sure there were plenty of other things I missed in my manual delete hunt.
Imagine that, an app uninstall so half-ass it leaves bits and pieces behind to screw with you in the future. It’s such an old problem you have to wonder if they do it intentionally, but why? I can see a certain usefulness in some situations but mostly it just creates trouble.