CryptoPrevent Purchase and License FAQs
Here you can find all applicable FAQs related to CryptoPrevent Premium purchases and licensing, beginning with new purchases of CryptoPrevent v9.1 released on April 25th, 2018.
CryptoPrevent License (All Purchases)
License Term: Term begins at ‘initial software activation’ which occurs during the very first software installation by using the installation key provided with the purchased license.
Product and definition updates are provided only within the purchased license term (this applies to both automated as well as manual mechanisms.) Product and definition updates for the CryptoPrevent software include new features/functionality (and any necessary bug fixes) for the application/program binaries (the CryptoPrevent software itself) as well as malware “definitions” (used by the software) for detection information on newly discovered malicious threats.
User support is provided within the purchased term through our email support system for the CryptoPrevent software only.
License does NOT include user support or product and definition updates beyond the license term purchased. In order to continue receiving user support or product and definition updates beyond the purchased term, including newer program features and functionality released after your purchased license expires, you must purchase a new license to obtain a current version of the software.
Additional terms are applicable (e.g. you can’t steal it, resell it, distribute it to torrent sites, etc.) and are available for review in the store’s general Terms and Conditions page.
CryptoPrevent Fixed Term License
License Term: Available in 1, 3, or 5 year terms. You may be notified about the pending expiration of your license term, at which time you will be provided options to purchase a new license term.
CryptoPrevent Subscription License
License Term: 1 year included. The license term is extended for 1 additional year beginning with each successful subscription renewal (billed automatically.)
Subscription Renewals: Renewals occur annually from the date of original purchase (note this is not necessarily the date you may have initially activated the software and licensing term.) Renewals are automatically charged at each annual billing cycle, unless the subscription is cancelled prior to the next billing date. Automated renewals are charged to the same payment method used during the original purchase, unless the payment method is modified prior to the next billing cycle (you will receive a link in your purchase email to modify your payment method on file as necessary, as well as a notification should the payment method expire prior to your next billing date.) You will be notified automatically by our billing system on or before the anniversary of your original purchase about the pending subscription renewal and charge. It is the responsibility of the subscriber to cancel any subscription prior to the billing date.
As a valued customer, your current rate will NOT be subject to any future pricing increase, so long as your automatically renewing subscription plan remains active!
Subscription Cancellations: You may cancel your subscription at any time to stop automatic billing (a link will be provided in the notification email received prior to any pending subscription renewal, or you may contact us for assistance as necessary.) It is the responsibility of the subscriber to cancel any undesired subscription renewal prior to the next billing date in order to avoid charges.
Please note that cancellation of your automatically renewing subscription will result in termination of user support as well as product and definition updates after the included term expires (which is 1 year from your last successful purchase/renewal charge.)
If your subscription is cancelled, you may purchase or resubscribe in the future, but you are NOT guaranteed the same or similar discounted subscription rate, as product prices may increase in the future to both new and existing customers not locked in to an automatically renewing subscription.
What happens when a purchased CryptoPrevent license expires?
In the past CryptoPrevent reverted to the free edition after the expiration of a license term, which still allowed usage of the protection features but disabled automatic/scheduled updates as well as other non-protection and convenience features. With the free edition now discontinued, we do not want these systems left unprotected even for a minute, therefore CryptoPrevent will remain a fully active product after the expiration of the license term, although any support or updates will be discontinued.
To be clear, an expired product license will lose the ability to receive product and definition updates as expected, but all protections and features will remain fully functional after your license expires. This effectively makes CryptoPrevent a one-time purchase, with updates included throughout the purchased license/subscription term only (some software vendors will refer to this as an included “product maintenance” period.)
- Please note: When definition updates are disabled due to an expired license, you will no longer have the ability to enable or disable the Extended Hash Definitions option. The currently selected option when the subscription expires will remain in effect unless you re-subscribe to enable update functionality.
To restore update functionality and receive the current version of the software, with any newer features since your license expired, you can purchase a new license at any time.
Find knowledgeable professionals, using the best tools in the industry, who proudly stand behind their top quality work.
Subscribe to our newsletter to receive emails on the latest big news about CryptoPrevent and other Foolish IT products and current events!